Posted by: thaufler | July 18, 2010

A boy without a country?

Evan is a Georgian citizen, with a Georgian passport and a Visa to travel to America where he instantly becomes a citizen when he steps on American soil, and we are in Israel… could this be any more complicated?

It’s Sunday, the day after Shabbat here in Tel Aviv where random electrical devices are not in use and all the stores are closed except Toys R us and McDonald’s. We have one elevator that will only go to the 12th floor in respect of Shabbat, so I took this elevator yesterday morning to breakfast, which is on the 12th floor, and couldn’t get back down because that same elevator will only go back down to the lowest floor and I am on the 4th floor, and every door I opened hoping to find stairs led somewhere else. 

How closely this resembles our situation here… I want to go to the “4th” floor (which is to bring Evan home healthy happy and whole) but no matter what button I push the only one that lights up says “0”, yes “zero”; not the 1st floor like most elevators… “zero”. I’ve got food and drink in my hand and I want to go to the 4th floor but I can’t and no door will lead me there, God has only given me the “zero” option. So is it “zero” me or “zero” God, is it simply myself I must rely on to get through this, or is it simply God… it is all God, I must hit the “zero” and see where it takes me. I get out and look around and see another elevator where the “4” button lights up.

Perhaps someday we will find this elevator where the “4” button lights up and God will make all these things clear to us… 

I miss our Georgian family and so wish they were here to help us with our decisions the next few days…

Alicia’s still sleeping. God has given her a precious gift, the ability to sleep soundly regardless of what the world throws at her… I lost it yesterday and in my panic state of mind couldn’t be there for her; please pray that I will stay rational and calm so I can hear God’s voice and trust the “zero” button.

We meet with the doctor today at 12:00 to talk about Evan’s condition and deliberate options we can’t render a decision on because it’s Sunday in all three countries…

…and a shred of hope remains.

Responses

  1. its 1:30 am here…and still praying/speaking hope for you all!

  2. Tim, you are as strong as you NEED to be! Remember that. I know it is hard to remember right now, but two things come to mind, God equips you to do what He calls you to do and He doesn’t give you more to handle that you are able. I have seen you and Alicia walk this VERY difficult road for 2-1/2 years and the growth I have seen in both of you and how the reliance on God has strengthened during that time has been an encouragement to me. There is blessing in this (even through the not understanding!!!!!)

  3. ……zero…how difficult it is to be satisfied with plane ground level.
    How difficult it is to throw all off theology, to put away the words of the great authors and preachers before us….and yet…. is it not simple?
    And Jesus answered him, The first of all the commandments is, Hear, O Israel; The Lord our God is one Lord: And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.
    (Mar 12:29-31)

    It takes a man of wisdom to be willing to fully trust in God, and “take the elevator to zero”, be willing to admit we do not have the powers to make the difference; we are vessels of His will. It takes a great man to be willing to go to level zero for the sake of others.
    Today, on this Lords day we will worship the one and only true God, united by Jesus the Christ, held together by the Holy Spirit with special attention to God’s doing with Evan and his family.
    In prayers

  4. we are still praying for you all. you have to know that you are strong, or this walk would have been much more difficult. i am sure that God will shine through, soon, like he always does, and you will be on the 4th floor..and all will be well.

  5. These words rang clear for you in our devotion time this morning. “Do not be afraid; only believe.” (Mk.5:36) Jesus said them to Jairus, the synagogue ruler who had come to Jesus for his daughter “who lie at the point of death” and then was told “Your daughter is dead. Why trouble the Teacher any further?” It’s never too late for Jesus to turn a situation around. We are praying for you and continuing to believe for Evan’s miracle.


Leave a Reply

Categories

