Posted by: thaufler | July 26, 2010

Long shadows…

Evan was a gift to all who met him… a bright light shining out into the world… a candle whose earthly flame, though extinguished, still casts a long shadow.

Some would say he was less than perfect in his natural form, but I would disagree. Who’s to say he wasn’t exactly as our heavenly Father intended him to be? I must agree with the Psalmist who says, “For You formed my inward parts; You covered me in my mother’s womb. I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; marvelous are Your works, and that my soul knows very well. My frame was not hidden from You, when I was made in secret, and skillfully wrought in the lowest parts of the earth. Your eyes saw my substance, being yet unformed. And in Your book they all were written, the days fashioned for me, when as yet there were none of them.” (Psalm 139:13-16) 

Was Evan exempt from this great promise?

His life has disrupted the core of many; like planets carelessly orbiting the sun, his life and story was a masterfully designed meteor that blasted their course forever. We can be crushed by these events and question God’s wisdom and spin out of control, or hold on trusting His goodness while waiting for this new future He has planned… a future that exist for His glory, not our comfort.

The hole left by his absence and the dreams we planned for him remain, and these scars will someday heal, but the evidence of his short visit with us will never vanish. Someday, some careful anthropologist may look back and see the rim of the crater left by the impact of his little life and say, “Here is where it began to change; where ancient prejudices were forever altered, where value was determined not by a person’s stature, abilities or health.” Perhaps… we’ll wait and see, but for now my hand is firmly planted in the palm of my creator knowing this exquisite pain and confusion has a purpose, a purpose I do not have to understand…

Leave a Reply

Categories

